Hankering for some Sci-Fi

Standard

I caught a look at this really awesome and interesting Scale of the Universe site the other day via Facebook — which I recommend you check out, too. In case you ever thought you were a big deal, or knew it all, here’s an FYI: you’re not and you don’t, because my god is the Universe huge. And beautiful. And I love the music they set to that page. Which brings me to…

The breathtaking beauty of a star being born in the Carina Nebula.

A hankering for some sci-fi! I’m largely a fantasy reader when it comes to the good ol’ SF&F section of the bookstore; in the last few years, that’s focused even more directly on urban fantasy and modern-day paranormal stuff. But after that website, I’m looking for some recommendations on some good science fiction literature to check out.

Now, I’m not talking hard sci-fi. Interesting but understandable jargon and science and ideas are perfectly fine, but I’m not a scientist and I’ve no aspirations to be one. Something that’s interesting, different, has good story and characters. Something that appreciates not only the fun of a space adventure but the beauty of the universe would be extra great to get my hands on.

Suggest away!

3 responses »

  1. The “Old Man’s War” books by John Scalzi.

    “The Forever War” by Joe Haldeman.

    “The Foundation Trilogy” by Isaac Asimov.

    “The Icarus Hunt” by Timothy Zahn.

  2. “Fallen Dragon” by Peter F Hamilton

    “Trading in Danger” by Elizabeth Moon (first book in a series)

    The Honor Harrington series by David Weber is simplistic, but fun

    “The Mote in God’s Eye” by Pournelle and Niven

    “The Player of Games” by Iain M Banks (I’d recommend Excession by the same author, but it might be a little too theoretical for you, given your comments)

    “Vacuum Diagrams” by Stephen Baxter (a big collection of short stories, but very cool stuff by an actual astrophysicist)

    I could go on, but those are some good ones.

Leave a Reply

