Between is the Hard Part

Standard

“Between” was the photo challenge a few weeks ago. I took a particular liking to these two images posted by Just Ramblin’, along with some great definitions about just what “between” is. (Also, how fun are those angles!)

 

They are incomplete projects, things that are between started and finished, that big long stretch of middle that’s the longest and hardest part of all.

I cannot count how many things I’ve started but never finished. Way, way, too many things to bother thinking about. It would surely depress me if I did. It’s not like I’m the only one, however. Whether it’s giving up, forgetting, or just outright failing, the important is getting up and trying again.

Besides–all the times I have stuck it out to the end, grabbing and fighting to keep myself going at whatever the task may be, it’s in the between part that the most interesting stuff happens. Between is where frustration surges up to replace motivation, writer’s block gobbles up inspiration like the Nothing, where you push, you shove, you argue, and despair over what the hell you’ll do next. This isn’t just about writing, either, it’s any task or project. The hardest part is the middle, that’s why so many people give up somewhere in there.

Once you hit the end once, though, you finally know how fantastic that feels. It’s good. It’s really good. It’s worth it. That’s why we keep going back for more.

And that’s what I keep reminding myself of when the between does it’s damnedest to shake me the hell off!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

