What Do You Want to Know About Kickstarter?

Standard

As I’ve posted about before, Phoenix Online ran a Kickstarter campaign for our upcoming game, Cognition: An Erica Reed Thriller. It was a fantastic success–we not only hit our $25,000 goal, we raised $34,247, and we’re now the 8th most successful video game project on Kickstarter, ever.

This April, the Penny Arcade Expo will be having it’s Boston-area event, aka PAX East, and I intend to attend the convention. I went in 2010 and it was a lot of fun, myself and another director did some interviews that were key in saving The Silver Lining, plus it was just really interesting! (Linkapalooza today, aren’t I?) There’s a huge area of booths for companies to showcase their games and other products, panels on all kinds of topics relevant to gamers, from gaming culture to Q&A with game creators, to dramatic presentations to suggestions for raising your geek toddler. They truly run the gammit, and quality will vary, but they are all of interest to the gaming community.

I’ll be honest–I did the majority of the work running our Kickstarter campaign. I managed our page, set it up, replied to emails, sent a thank you message to every single person who donated, posted the updates, tweeted, Facebook’d, emailed friends & family to ask for their support, I was all over that thing. I won’t pretend it was ALL me, but I was the person mainly driving that thing. And I really loved doing it! Kickstarter’s great, and I know there are others out there who are interested in and would like to use it to get their own projects going.

So, I’m looking to put together a panel proposal for PAX East. Right now I’m trying to decide what

Rich and I at PAX East 2010

sort of format I want to go with: one that’s purely about Phoenix Online’s experience with Kickstarter, or approach other successful gaming-related projects and try to get a panel of people together to talk about all our experiences. Both set-ups would involved plenty of audience Q&A, but I’d like to get a chance to talk about the experience before launching into pure Q&A as well. A panel of a number of people would cut down on both time available to talk about that as well as Q&A time. But, it offers a wider variety of experiences and answers for people as well, and that can only help since no one’s going to have the exact same experience.

Panels, of note, run about an hour.

So, readers, what do YOU want to know about Kickstarter? What format sounds better to you? What kind of information do you want, what questions would you have? I’d love to get some great feedback on this, and soon so I can submit the proposal. Thanks in advance for your help!

3 responses »

  1. I’d be interested to see one with people from several different groups that have run Kickstarter campaigns, to get the different viewpoints and different experiences. I’d keep it small though, I mean the panels are only an hour, as you said.

  2. Thanks Drew! Yeah–the variety would be great, but the possibility of losing the time to talk about the details is my main worry with trying to set up a panel.

  3. Pingback: Kickstarter Sells Out « Katie Hallahan

Leave a Reply

